Piquiza Treaty, peace between Peru and Bolivia

On July 6, 1828, a peace agreement was signed between Peru and the neighboring country of Bolivia, known as the Piquiza Treaty, which involved the withdrawal of Peruvian troops from Bolivian territory. It was named that way since it was signed in the Bolivian city of Piquiza.

After the fall of Marshal Antonio José de Sucre, the then President of Peru, General Agustín Gamarra decided to invade Bolivian territory in April 1828 with the intention of annexing Bolivia (uniting one thing to another to make it depend on it, especially on a State or from one part of its territory to another) to the national demarcation. However, after the defeat of Potosí; Bolivians asked for peace.

This treaty consisted of 17 articles, the same ones that were approved by the General. The General in charge of the Bolivian troops, José María Pérez de Urdininea approved and ratified in all its parts the treaty, which was constituted in an ignominious document, this not only contained infamous parts for the Republic of Bolivia but also insisted on the withdrawal of all Colombian or foreign military from the disputed territory.

Finally, after the parties involved will sign the Piquiza Treaty, the treaty was ratified in the Chuquisaca Congress in August 1828. It was then that the General of the Peruvian troops and then President of Peru, Agustín Gamarra broke all ties that He linked it with Marshal Antonio José de Sucre, who had no choice but to resign from the Bolivian presidency through a public speech that failed to gather the desired number of sympathizers. Sometime later, in September of the same year, Gamarra forced de Sucre to go into exile in Ecuador.

Source: ArchivoPerúBolivia
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap