Pedro Cateriano is the new President of the Council of Ministers

Through social networks, the minister Pedro Cateriano published a post in which he announced that through the invitation made by the President of the Republic Martin Vizcarra, he agreed to be part of the official ranks occupying the position of President of the Council of Ministers.

The now PCM stated: «I offer: sweat, honesty and democratic conduct for a more just and free Peru.» In this way, Cateriano would be replacing Vicente Zeballos, who had been performing such a role in the midst of the pandemic situation with Covid-19 (Coronavirus).

The name of the now new premier is Pedro Álvaro Cateriano Bellido, a lawyer by profession and a politician, who served in the portfolio of the Ministry of Defense in the government of former President Ollanta Humala Tasso in the period from 2012 to 2015. And he held the presidency of the Council of Ministers the following year (2015) until 2016.

With a remarkable academic record, Cateriano studied at the Immaculate College of Lima, entered the Pontifical Catholic University of Peru in the career of Law. He studied a doctorate at the Ortega y Gasset University Research Institute. From an early age he held public positions such as the election for deputy for Lima of the Libertad Movement, which was led by the writer and literature nobel Mario Vargas Llosa.

Likewise, he was part of the Congress dissolved by former President Alberto Fujimori in 1990. He was a member of the Commission of Inquiry investigating the death of former President Alan García and wrote the book The García Case in which the investigations carried out by Parliament were mentioned. to the former president about his efforts as president.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap